By Logan Garrett, Editor-In-Chief—

The recently formed UTC Advisory Board held its inaugural in the University Center on Monday, Jan. 7.


The members of the Advisory Board, which was established by the UT FOCUS Act of 2018, unanimously elected former UC Foundation Chair Fred DeCosimo to chair of the board.


Along with DeCosimo, the board also appointed current UTC SGA President JuJuan Lewis as the student representative, and Chancellor Angle’s Chief of Staff, Terry Denniston, was designated secretary of the Board.


Other members of the board include:

  • William “Muecke” Barker, Signal Mountain
  • Serina Desai, Chattanooga
  • Carole Hoffman, Hixson
  • Scott LeRoy, Chattanooga
  • Gretchen Potts, UTC faculty


After passing through the Tennessee General Assembly in 2018, the UT FOCUS Act decreased the size of the UT Board of Trustees from 27 to 12 members while also eliminating the voting student trustee position. This reduction in trustees resulted in the creation of advisory boards for each specific UT campus, like UTC, UT-Knoxville, and UT-Martin


These advisory boards will primarily coordinate with the Chancellor on a strategic plan for the future of each campus and advise on a number of other university issues, while also working directly with the UT Board of Trustees on operating budget of the UT system, which includes tuition and fees.

One Reply to “UTC Advisory Board Holds Its Inaugural Meeting”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.